2008 Category Descriptions

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on whatsapp
Share on email
Share on print

Best Development for First-time Buyers
Judges will be considering one- and two- bedroom homes and apartments that offer quality designs that are set within the budget constraints that face today’s first-time buyers.

Best Development for Family Living
The judges will be looking for the developments that best cater to the needs of the modern family and should include thoughtful and flexible use of living space within the confines of affordable three and four-bedroom homes. Overall quality and a family friendly location will also be important factors in the final decision.

Best Retirement 55 Plus Development
In this category, the judges will be considering the practicality, ease of maintenance and quality of design features available, combined with the overall package that is on offer to mature buyers.

Best Assisted Living Development
In addition to the quality of environment offered, under particular consideration here are the support services made available so that residents can retain their independence.

Best Development for Landscape Design
The outside space of a home is as important as the architecture and internal layout of a property. This category judges the attention to detail and design of family homes’ gardens through to apartments within landscaped grounds.

Best Conversion Project
This is the category for developers to show off their ability to turn disused and aged properties into spectacular homes and apartments. Judges will be considering inventive design inside and out, as well as incorporation and modification of original features. (Before and after photography to be supplied).

Best Luxury Development
With luxury as their watchword judges will be looking at top of the range executive homes situated in luxurious locations. No expense has been spared on the developments in this category and judges will expect these homes to be worth every penny of their premium price tag in terms of design and specification.

Best Architectural Innovation
Entries for this category should focus on the exterior design of the houses on the development. In essence the judges are looking for the “wow” factor for external style and appeal to the eye.

Best City Development
The judges will be looking for developments within a city living environment that provide the best mix of style, interior design, overall quality and relative value for the market at which the development is aimed. Apartments as well as relevant terraced and townhouse developments
will be considered.

Best New Build Village
The big site category, phased across several years, entries are welcome from individual developers or partner- ship projects with other developers and/or local authorities. The winner will need to demonstrate how it appeals to different ages and types of buyers, whilst providing a good infrastructure and support services which meet the needs of a growing community.

Best Development for Interior Design and Technical Innovation
This category awards the internal specification and design of a new property. From hi-tech, hi-spec loft living apartments through to traditional homes with classical interiors that will offer timeless living for years to come. A detailed look at the interior layout as well as the appliances offered as standard.

Best Brownfield Development
Judges will be awarding the developers creating superior developments on brownfield sites. The judges are looking for best use of redundant land and also considering the renovation of existing housing.

Best Waterside Development
Developments within a Marina, by the sea, river or canal side will be considered or this category. Judges will be looking for developments that best relate to the waterside environment in which they are built with consideration of both their external and internal design.

Best Eco-Friendly Development
The judges will be looking for innovative, eco-friendly homes that are built using sustainable materials and that demonstrate energy and water conservation initiatives. Factors such as good insulation, provision of renewable energy technology, grey water recycling and rainwater harvesting will score highly with the judges.

Housebuilder of the Year 2008′ Award
This award encapsulates building excellence and the Daily Telegraph Your New Home judging panel will award and present the ‘Housebuilder of the Year 2007′ award after reviewing all entries submitted.

Best Shared Ownership Development
New build properties sold under a shared ownership scheme will be considered in this category. The judges will be looking to recognise developments where affordability and ease of purchase are evident, and style and quality are not compromised by entry level prices.

Best Overseas Development
The judges will be looking to recognise the best new build overseas property developments worldwide in an urban or country setting. Particular emphasis will be placed on the construction quality, visual appeal, value for money, travel and communication links, local amenities and leisure facilities.

Subscribe to our newsletter

Don't miss new updates on your email