The Seahorse Club awards recognised logistics and maritime reporters in London last week

The Seahorse Club awards recognised logistics and maritime reporters in London last week

Journalists and editors from across the supply chain and maritime industry were recognised for outstanding writing at The Seahorse Club’s awards in London last week.

Twelve winners were awarded for articles, publications, and social media campaigns covering topics from the North Sea Passage to Amazon’s investment in transport and innovative ship design.

Lloyd’s List’s Janet Porter, Editor-in-Chief, was named Seahorse Journalist of the Year and was also the John Richman Lifetime Achievement Award winner.

“Janet is a phenomenal journalist, who is much loved by industry contacts and her newsroom colleagues,” said Peter Owen, Chairman, The Seahorse Club.

“Her passion for the subject at hand and attention to detail are second to none and she is a force within any organisation.”

One of the awards was the first of its kind, the Journalism on Innovation Award, with Ines Nastali, Industry Reporter at The Marine Professional, scooping first prize, as well as taking home the Newcomer of the Year Award.

Julian Bray, Editor-in-Chief of Tradewinds, was named Seahorse Journalist of the Year, whilst Nicola Good, Executive Editor of Fairplay, was awarded International Editor.

David Harris, Editor of Cargo Facts, scooped Air Cargo Journalist of the Year, and Carly Fields, News Editor at Breakbulk won home Environmental Journalist.

The Supply Chain Journalist of the Year award went to Mike King from Flying Typers, whilst Greg Miller, Senior Commerce Editor at Fairplay, won Social Media Journalist Award.

Other winners of the night included Helen Kelly and Gary Howard from Lloyd’s List, who were jointly named Feature Journalist of the Year. This category is always difficult to judge, and never more so than this year with over 40 entries.

Peregrine Storrs-Foxx, Risk Management Director at TT Club, was named winner of The John Rose Personality of the Year Award.

The Seahorse Club is a networking group for journalists and professionals in the freight transport, shipping, and logistics sectors founded in 1963.